Troubridge, Karratta and Parndana – landmarks of Kangaroo Island.
Many of you have enquired about our Kangaroo Island Lodge Walk that’s still in development. Guests will get to experience a multi-day through journey staying in our private accommodation at both Rocky River and at Cape du Couedic.
In the meantime, we’re releasing a limited number of departures for our unique Lightkeeper Walk. Nestled in the Flinders Chase National Park on the picturesque and remote Kangaroo Island, guests will be immersed in the Kangaroo Island Wilderness Trail, all the while neighbouring the historic Cape du Couedic Lighthouse.
During the walk, our groups have exclusive use of the newly refurbished Kangaroo Island Cape du Couedic Cottages. Here, guests will be able to unwind after a long day of walking in a historical staple of Kangaroo Island accommodation.
To celebrate the completion of our renovations, we thought we’d share a little glimpse of the history behind the Kangaroo Island accommodation landmark.
Photo credit: South Australian State Library
The Cape du Couedic lighthouse was the last of the three lighthouses on Kangaroo Island to be built, with construction of the lighthouse and the three cottages concluding in 1909. The three cottages go by the name of Troubridge, Karatta and Parndana. They were named after the boats who acted as coastal traders between Kangaroo Island and mainland South Australia in the early 20th century, playing a vital role in building the local economy. During its 48 years of occupation, the lighthouse had 10 lightkeepers. Each head-lightkeeper and assistants lived in the modest 4 room cottages.
The remoteness of working at the lighthouse was challenging for the workers. With no land access, the only way the lightkeepers could get their supplies was winching them from boats on a flying-fox. This method was also the only way that lightkeepers and their families could get onto the cape. As one story goes, an unpopular lightkeepers wife was being transported on the flying-fox, as it broke down, leaving her precariously dangling off the cliff edge for hours as it was repaired...
After the lighthouse was automated in 1957, the Trubridge, Karatta and Pardana cottages were transferred to the South Australian Government and became part of the Flinders Chase National Park. They were then rented out as accommodation to travellers.
Today, the cottage exterior remains the same as what it was in 1909, with hand-stacked, locally mined limestone making it easy for guests to remain cosy. The turn of the century interior continues to be an integral part of the design -- and your experience.
Discover for yourself on our Kangaroo Island Lightkeeper Walk.